48. Kep

Cambodia: Crab Market, Kep

Sometimes on vacation, there are just things that happen which you simply can’t plan. I was in Kampot and got sick for about 2 days, recovering just in time for our next move to Koh Rong. However, the night before we were meant to embark my friend messaged saying half of the people were getting very sick on the island and it had effected her too!

After having only just recovered we decided to stay safe swapping the white sands of Koh Rong for the nearby sleepy town of Kep. Now, Kep is a tiny place. There really wasn’t much to do, but it was just what I needed. Our days were spent swimming, whizzing round on tuk-tuks and watching sunsets.

The food here is the real star of the show. In Kep, I had THE best amok. I also chomped down on its famed crab, looking over the water towards Vietnam as the sun set. I mean, it was a real breath of fresh air away from the cities. Who’d have thought this place which I overlooked would end up being my favourite part of Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

