45. The Dojang

Korea: Jangsan, Busan

Taekwondo is Korea’s national sport. In 2005 I stayed with a family in Cheongju and practiced in a local dojang. 12 years later I’m still doing the sport. As the only foreigner in the club it was initially a daunting endeavor. Moving from the UK to Korea and deciding to carry it on has felt like going from top of the class to the bottom. I feel like I should trade my black belt in for a white belt here, yet they have made me feel so welcome. The students are unbelievably determined, training for 3 hours at a time (sometimes longer) for up to five or six times a week.

3 thoughts on “45. The Dojang

Leave a Reply

